The end of an era...


...The iPod era, that is. For my mobile development course, I had to buy some sort of Apple mobile device, after abandoning that company for Android this year. I was going to just find some cheapo phone at a used mobile store, but then I found it... Apple was selling refurbished iPods on their website. Considering it's the last generation of iPods to come out, I had to pick one up.

To go to the Apple store itself was a (pathetic) adventure - I had just moved to this city a bit ago and hadn't taken the train yet. I had to take it to get to the store, and it was pretty exciting. Anyways. While on the way there, I started wondering if I should've spent the extra $300 and just got an iPad instead, since everyone loves them for drawing and stuff. What's the point in having an iPod if you have a Smartphone, right? Well when I finally got it home and opened it up, I realized the big difference.

Besides the WAY smaller and lighter build, it's just kinda nice to have device I can have games and music on without being "connected" to the world, y'know? I haven't taken advantage of that as much as I could yet, but it's gotten me interested in looking for new music at least.

In other news, I have about twice as many hours in Splatoon 3 as I do Splatoon 2, dear god. When the Amiibo released on Nov 11, I decided I'd at least want to go out and find the Octoling Boy Amiibo as I love him... and I'd maybe pick up any others they had... well...

It's worth it though, because they're super high quality, and the outfits in game are good. Though something interesting in Splatoon did happen - someone ended up adding me from my gamertag on Discord, someone who I squidbagged with in the lobby... And they're actually a college student who's into OCs and drawing too. So it's funny how I've been talking with someone I met by squidbagging and accidentally murdering them with my Flingza.

We also got our first snow of the winter, which is always miserable, because I hate the cold. At least it's at the degree of just looking nice and not like hideous muddy slush yet.

To get away from the winter blues, I went out to a little shopping district and got some authentic tonkotsu black ramen, which was godly. Across the street was a little used bookstore I never saw before, so I went in and spent about 40 minutes looking at old scifi books... and ended up picking up three.

Now to get back to doing all the work on group assignments that no one else wants to participate in.


2022-11-21|#diary