Is this "Koizumi-san" in the room with us right now?


Why the anime that's basically a yuri-baiting commercial for ramen is the one that won my attention span long enough to watch fully through, I have no idea. I guess my love of both yuri-that-will-never-happen and drawings of food pulled me along. I've mentioned before my love of ramen, and a show that promised to be about showing authentic ramen across Japan, both common and uncommon, piqued my interest. In the end though, it was kinda generic Cute Girls Doing Cute Things, but I went along with it anyways.

There's not really a whole lot to say about it. If this sort of premise interests you, it's probably better to just watch a foodie YouTuber like DancingBacons. While he is not a cute moe high schooler anime girl, the food shown is real and makes me want to fly to Japan (or Taiwan or Singapore...) to try it immediately.

In terms of the yuri, well I can always appreciate the cute semi-tomboy x gorgeous elegant girl. It never escalates beyond a one-sided yandere love interest unfortunately. I mean, I can appreciate yandere tropes, but it's never utilized beyond the meme value. Makes me want to make my own sort of yuri couple... a hot mess of a girl trying to impress a foodie or food reviewer lady, sounds like it has amazing potential honestly... (at least in my delusional brain).

Besides that, I also picked up some more old sci-fi books for my collection. To prevent my hoard from getting out of control, I'm hoping to read these over the Christmas break so I can have them cleared and not added to the problem of my Goodreads backlog. They're all pretty short books, and I've been wanting to read War of the World and The Time Machine for awhile, so hopefully I'll actually get through them.


2022-12-19|#anime